Tags

Months of preparation, a broken luggage wheel as I walked out the door, many goodbyes, 18 hours in the air, four airports – and I’m FINALLY here! I left DC at 5:50pm on Friday and arrived in Kigali at 9:15pm on Saturday. It was a long trip, but KLM treated me well.

In very un-Dana fashion, I have barely taken any photos. But this evening after getting out of work I took a little stroll around my neighborhood to take a photo of the setting sun.

IMG_0008 (3)

I always feel a little overwhelmed when I’m writing during a trip, because there is so much pressure to sum up your ENTIRE EXPERIENCE in a blog post/journal entry. Important things ought to be documented properly, but perhaps I’ll save that for another day. Instead I’ll jot down a few fun facts about Rwanda:

  • Rwanda is about the size of Vermont, and is the most densely populated country in Africa
  • Plastic bags are illegal in Rwanda – don’t try to bring them in your luggage! Even my hotel doesn’t put plastic bags in the small trash cans.
  • Rwanda is just south of the Equator, but is much cooler than DC. No joke – DC currently feels like 104, and the high in Kigali is about 84 every day.
  • Kigali is at roughly the same elevation as Denver
  • Rwandans are absolutely the nicest people you’ll ever meet, and Kigali is extremely safe

Overall I’m pretty psyched about the next three months. My new boss picked me up at the airport, and one of the first things she told me is that she already signed me up for a brewery tour this weekend. I think we’re going to get along just fine.

