I’m leaving my girl to spend three months 7,204 miles away (as the crow flies). I’ve been so busy preparing and getting things ready and packing and tying up loose ends that I forgot I was actually LEAVING my very best friend. The woman who is watching her is very capable, and loving, and I know Barley will be very happy. But when her caretaker and I finalized plans today for me to drop Barley off in a week…. well, it hit me like a ton of bricks. Each of those bricks sat gently on my heart until I could feel every ounce, and I cried.

This girl, who was carried out of the Cobb County, GA shelter in September 2009 because she was too scared to walk. This girl, who has gone on every road trip I’ve taken in the last six years. This girl, who knows EXACTLY what I think of every guy I’ve ever dated (ha!). Well, I sure will miss her. I really, really will.

And for a week or so, we’re going to break all the house rules.

lounging on the couch

lounging on the couch

 

