A few days ago I woke up with that kinda-feeling-sick-in-the-back-of-my-throat feeling, but decided to ignore it and soldier on to work. A few hours later though, soul-sucking weariness and sleepy eyes pushed their way into the fold. I reasoned that I could either power through the work day and end up with a full-blown winter cold, or head home and get some much-needed rest. I was hesitant to leave early because it was the day after the Super Bowl and my boss knows of my – ahem – serious Patriots love. Would he worry that I had simply had a few too many?*

I popped in to the grocery store that afternoon to pick up a few staples – coconut milk, lemongrass, and ginger (ok, ok, these may or may not actually be staples) – and headed home to make some soup. Specifically, this Best Thai Coconut Soup. Y’all, this soup was for real delicious. I doubled the mushrooms and didn’t use shrimp, but otherwise left it as-is. (I was going to add pan-fried tofu using this method, but I couldn’t find tofu in my grocery store anywhere).

The soup was missing a little something… so I added some Sriracha to turn up the heat.

Result: perfection.

photo 1 (3)

 

The heat of the soup must have cured what ailed me, because even though I had a sore throat the next day, I woke up this morning feeling completely normal. Spicy soup for the win!

*The answer is no, I did not. Thank you for asking….

