The other day I woke up very early and decided that leaving the house would not be in my best interest. It was cold outside, I hadn’t slept well the night before, and I was up – wide awake – before my alarm.

I decided that the very day would be a mental health day, a day to infuse a little warmth into my very empty soul. Not a day to wallow, but a day to whisk enthusiasm, energy, and joy into my heart.

First things first, some mini pumpkin whoopie pies. I intended to bring these into the office, but I skipped that step and have been munching on them all week. That’s how I roll, people. That’s also how I gain a pound or two in the winter months.

006

Next up was to make the Creamy Sweet Potato Soup that I promised y’all in my autumn to do list. Sadly I still haven’t carved my pumpkin yet {hmmmm}, so I didn’t add pumpkin seeds. This soup was absolutely delicious! Adding freshly grated parmesan cheese to it really made the flavors stand out, but even without the cheese it really is delicious. I’ve never been a fan of sweet potato (too sweet), but this soup is something special (and very simple).Image

Of course if you know me I wasn’t merely rushing through this cooking process. Half the time I was listening to my favorite Pandora station (French Cafe Radio), but after all that French music I found myself craving something a wee bit French and I started watching one of my favorite movies while I finished cooking…..

025

One of my happiest moments of the day was going to my local (and – I believe – the only DC-area) fabric store! Bits of Thread sells all of their fabric for $3 a yard. The place is tiny, and you never know what you’ll find, but I love it there. I got a few different fabrics. My intention for going was to pick out fabric for the foldover tote, and I’m thinking of using the fabric on the bottom for that (and perhaps using the fabric second from the top as embellishment on the top of the bag?). The fabric on top terrifies me (it is some sort of silk fabric), but at $3 a yard I couldn’t resist it.

022To many of you, hanging art on the wall may seem like tiny potatoes. Not to me, sisters. I have lived in this fabulous apartment for 1.5 years and have yet to hang anything on the wall. I am terrified of putting a hole in the wall of a rental, of choosing the wrong hanger (and having the art crash down), and of hanging things in the wrong spot. But I FINALLY hung this beauty above my sofa (photos to come).024

A fire in the hearth is good for the heart. HA!!!DSC00023And finally, I did a mini craft in 30 seconds that has made me very happy indeed. I took this little magnet that I did not need….DSC00026

And this postcard Anthropologie sent me during my birthday month…..DSC00027

And I made this lovely little magnet (I just attached the paper to the magnet with a glue stick). I do indeed hope that this is my best year yet. I could use a little pick-me-up. But for now, happy magnets on the fridge, soul-filling days, and my lovely friends and family are making me as happy as can possible be expected.DSC00029

This day ended up being one of my most productive days in a long time (of course I did not include pictures of all the cleaning and laundry I did… you’re welcome!). This day made me realize that it is not so very bad to slow down, to take a time out, to withdraw temporarily, and to make yourself whole again.

