My favorite season has officially arrived – the air is crisp, the leaves are changing, boots are out of the closet, extra blankets are on the bed, chimney smoke is occasionally in the air, and I’m dreaming of cooking and quilting.

Summertime typically brings with it a bit of a cooking and crafting hiatus, and that was never more true than this year. Hmmm – did I even cook an entire meal this summer?

But the cool air has sparked my cooking gene once again, and I’m happy to say that I {sort of} followed three lovely recipes this evening.

Fire Cider

Fire cider is a tonic to help keep colds and flu at bay, and very easy to whip up. I didn’t have horseradish, but the rest of the ingredients are packed in a mason jar and waiting for November 8th so that the liquid may be strained and slowly consumed.

Image

Raw Kale Salad with Apples and Almonds

Darn, realized mid-cooking that I don’t have any almonds (an unheard-of travesty in this house). Still good without the almonds, though.

Image

Curried Squash Soup

I really shouldn’t even say that I made this soup, as I left out so many of the ingredients. But I must give credit where credit is due, and this recipe from Local Milk really inspired me. Even without the kabocha squash (I used butternut), fish sauce, sambal oelek, and cilantro, it is still a really yummy soup. The curry is at a perfect level – it gives the soup heat and depth without being overwhelming. I highly recommend adding this soup to your autumn rotation.

Image

 

Hopefully this cooking craze isn’t a fluke – so many inspiring recipes out there! What is your favorite autumn recipe?

Happy cooking!

Dana {in DC}

