It is ramps season. Ahhhh ramps. Last spring is the first time I had one of these tasty morsels, and they really are lovely. Ramps are in the leek family (often called a wild leek), and have a really delicious fresh taste. I picked these up from the farmer’s market yesterday (actually I was on the phone when I was walking past the market, and I said “I NEED TO CALL YOU BACK – THEY ARE SELLING RAMPS”).

Image

So today, I decided to search a ramp recipe on epicurious and came up with this gem: Ramp and Sausage Risotto. Only I didn’t have risotto, so it should really be called Ramp and Sausage Israeli Couscous….

Image

I had to miss it this year, but next year I’m going to go to the Ramp Festival in West Virginia. (side note: aren’t random festivals the best? Georgia was great for those – I am still sad I never made it to the Brunswick Stew Festival. sigh.)

