I’ve had a lot of stuff on my mind this week: how to use technology in a way that fosters personal growth and contributes to my happiness (rather than the mindless way that I use it now); how to use my time in the best possible way to achieve my goals (what are my goals?!); and how to make sure that I get enough quality time (rather than facebook/email/blog-reading time). I’m still developing my ideas on how to ‘tame the tech,’ so expect a post on that in the next few days.

But enough about the deep stuff, let’s keep it light, shall we? It is Friday after all.

Too Soon

Yesterday I walked to the post office to mail a few things, and bought a book of stamps while I was there. I nearly asked for a refund when they handed me these…

And today, my coworker and I decided that because it was Friday, because it was freezing outside, and because we never ever do it (we have a pretty solid allegiance with Bozzelli’s and their Illy coffee right next door), we went to Starbucks to get fall-themed coffee. However, my pumpkin latte came in this holiday-themed cup here:

Heck yes I have a stuffed beaver and a Yoda bobblehead on my desk! And if you look closely, you can see the feet of my glow-in-the-dark skeleton in the top center of the photo. Who says cubicle life is boring life?!

Scandalous!! November 2nd, and I’m already being barraged with Christmas stuff.

Don’t show up stressed to the church potluck

I’ve been trying to go to my church’s First Friday potluck for months now, and tonight finally seemed like it could be the night. At 4:30 this afternoon, I decided to go. I picked out a recipe (Brie-Leek Tartlets!), left work, and planned to rush to the grocery store, pick up the ingredients, rush home, quickly walk the dog, cook up some leeks, arrange tartlets, fill tartlets, allow them to cook, and be out the door at 6:30 to take the train to the person’s house to arrive at 7:00.

My church, looking pretty on the walk home tonight at sunset.

But after searching two grocery stores, I was unable to find leeks, and unable to find tartlets (I’m sure you can guess by the name of the recipe that both of these ingredients were essential). So I frantically scanned my brain for a suitable recipe replacement in the middle of the Safeway. It was 6:15. I deluded myself into thinking that if I ran home, ran the dog (rather than a walk), and threw my recipe together I could still be out the door at 6:30.

After rethinking the intelligence of this rational, I took a deep breath and released myself from the obligation of attending this potluck. Next month, I will prepare my tartlets the night before. But tonight, the only things on my menu are: decompress from the work week, put together my vision board (part of my tame the tech project), and have a wee glass of wine. Lovely.

Be well,

Dana (in DC)

